top of page

Issue With Specter AI In Path Of Exile

In Path of Exile, Specters (I run Solar Guards) have become passive and dumber for some reason and I know this is a newer behavior because all I've played ever since I started PoE during Prophecy is either SRS or Specters.

They did not act like this before but now they feel like the old Zombies (before they got buffed to become more aggressive/attentive). At least one specter always stays behind and it's just harder to get them to attack at all, sometimes they just sit back and watch even when I use my Ball Lightning and there's a pack in front of them.

What I want to know is if GGG is aware of this problem/bug/whatever and if they're trying to fix it, or if it's intended (as far as I know they never mentioned this in any patch notes). I know they're busy but we know they browse this sub a lot and they reply to many "fun" threads or more serious things all the time, too. All I'm asking for here is an official response from their part.

Here is a player views:

I have a similar issue with the Burning Spectres build, in that even with 4 Spectres, it's extraordinarily rare that you ever get more than 2 or maybe at times 3 of them casting their scorching ray totems.

It's not because things are dying too quick either. I've actually timed it against bosses and it takes nearly 20 seconds for the 4th Spectre to cast it's SR totem. That's just in a boss room too, with no add's.

This was not an issue using the exact same character a couple of months ago. As OP said, the issue started for me in march, as well. There is clearly something bugged, but I have no clue what it is.

I did a test at the start of this week where I dropped the +1 Spectre boots and equipped a pair of +15 IIQ magic find boots, leaving me with just 3 minions. There was literally NO change to the clear speed at all. Not on any tier of map, or red map bosses. As a result, now I'm just running a bisco's ammy, two ventor's rings and magic find boots at no effective DPS loss.

What is your opinion?

bottom of page